Burn ban extended in Okanogan County

— A Stage 1 burn ban will continue until at least 4 p.m. Wednesday in Okanogan County, according to the state Department of Ecology.

The burn ban also includes Chelan and Douglas counties.

Stage 1 bans apply to the use of uncertified wood-burning devices (including woodstoves, inserts and fireplaces) and to all outdoor burning. Certified wood-burning devices were built after 1990.

All outdoor burning – including residential, agricultural and forest burning – is prohibited.

Under a Stage 1, ban the use of uncertified wood-burning devices – including fireplaces, wood stoves and inserts – is prohibited unless they are a home’s only adequate source of heat.

The Department of Ecology recommends burning hot fires using only clean, dry wood. No excessive smoke is allowed from any wood-burning device beyond a 20-minute start-up.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment