Stories for December 2014

Subscribe

Wednesday, December 31

       

Rock'n'roll may have a place here

With all the cowboy and country persona emphasized here, it sometimes feels like I’m the only one in the area who listens to hard-rock music. But there are several local hard-rock musicians making a name for themselves elsewhere

December 31, 2014 midnight read more..
     

Tuesday, December 30

     

Monday, December 29

 

Robbery reported in Okanogan

Okanogan County Sheriff's Office is searching for four masked bandits believed to have robbed a local couple at gunpoint Saturday night

December 29, 2014 10:14 a.m. read more..


Friday, December 26

 

Wednesday, December 24

           

Dear Santa, will you please leave...

It’s usually easy for me to ask for a few well-deserved gifts. But given the destruction caused by this year’s Carlton Complex wildfire, there are so many things that area residents deserve — and need — that I can’t possibly ask for enough. But I’ll start with a few common-sense requests.

December 24, 2014 midnight read more..


Helping others is part of life here

We’d like to say the spirit of Christmas is alive and well here. But that wouldn’t quite be accurate ... residents here take care of their friends and neighbors all year along, not just during the holidays.

December 24, 2014 midnight read more..

Tuesday, December 23

 

Friday, December 19

 

Thursday, December 18

  

Wednesday, December 17

               

Reopen 36-mile stretch of river

Residents of our state did not cede the right to access and enjoyment of public waterways to utilities operating dams on the Columbia or other rivers. But Grant County Public Utility District officials would have you believe they are the sole arbiters of who gets to fish, boat and access a 36-mile stretch of the Columbia River from Wanapum Dam to Rock Island Dam. They are not.

December 17, 2014 midnight read more..

Tuesday, December 16

   

Monday, December 15



Friday, December 12

   

Thursday, December 11

 

Wednesday, December 10

               

Road block to established access

Forest Service Road No. 30 is an example of access issues facing those of us who enjoy recreating on publicly owned lands managed by a government agency. It makes you wonder how many public roads with prescriptive rights are now off limits, locked behind a government gate.

December 10, 2014 midnight read more..

Tuesday, December 9

 

Friday, December 5

  

Thursday, December 4

  

Wednesday, December 3

            

Cattlemen to discuss wolves

Officials, ranchers to discuss wolves, livestock inspections and water during Okanogan County Cattlemen's Association annual meeting.

December 3, 2014 11:43 a.m. read more..
      

Gebbers deserves funds for fire fight

Gebbers Farms should be commended for its fire fighting efforts. The reimbursement cost taxpayers far, far less than had the company stood by and watched the Brewster area burn.

December 3, 2014 midnight read more..
 

Tuesday, December 2