Teams attempt to find leagues

SCAC initially says no to three C’s

The region’s 1A schools continued a high-wire act last week, trying safely to land in a league.

Omak announced Tuesday it plans to depart the depleted Caribou Trail League and play regular season games in the North Central 2B League.

Among the reasons for Omak joining the NCL was to make the remaining three CTL teams — Cashmere, Chelan and Cascade – more attractive to the South Central Athletic Conference.

But the three C’s, as I like to call them, learned Thursday that their request to join the SCAC was rejected by athletic directors there. The athletic directors voted for their schools not to admit the remaining CTL teams.

“The superintendents and principals will discuss (the request) and vote,” CTL representative Elia Ala’ilima-Daley said Thursday. “We should hear by Monday. We will wait to see what their vote is.”

Ala’ilima-Daley is in talks on an appeal process with District 6 and Washington Interscholastic Activities Association.

There aren’t a lot of options for the three C’s.

An attempt to create a 1A/2A league with Quincy and Ephrata did not pan out. The North Central 2B League did not want to admit the three Cs.

The CTL’s apparent falling into oblivion started with reclassification by WIAA, which it does every two years.

Okanogan, Tonasket and Brewster found themselves dropping out of the CTL ranks to 2B and Quincy moving to 2A for the next two-year cycle, 2014-2016.

Omak, seeing the three C’s would have a better chance of joining the SCAC if the Pioneers were not part of the package, made the move to the NCL.

The move also will keep travel time and expenses down.

Omak will compete against 1A teams in postseason, although that process remains a month or so away from being determined. The Pioneers could compete against SCAC for state berths or against Northeast 1A League teams.

The NEA could pick up an added state berth after adding Deer Park and Colville, down from 2A, and losing Kettle Falls, moving to 2B.

The NCL, as it is shaping up now, would include Tonasket, Omak, Okanogan, Liberty Bell, Brewster and Bridgeport in a northern division.

The north also could include Pateros and Entiat as 1B schools that would then split in postseason to 1B tournaments, which is what they do now.

Lake Roosevelt, Manson, Waterville, White Swan and Kittitas, along with Warden and possibly Mabton (the two teams dropping from the SCAC), would be in the south. The south could also include the current 1B schools Moses Lake Christian, Soap Lake, Easton, Wilson Creek, Riverside Christian and Columbia Basin Secondary School.

Should the three C’s be accepted to the SCAC, the 16-team conference probably would change from east-west divisions to a north-south alignment.

The current SCAC west includes Cle Elum/Roslyn, Goldendale, Granger, Highland, La Salle, Mabton (going to 2B), Naches Valley and Zillah.

The east includes Columbia (Burbank), Connell, Kiona-Benton, River View, Royal, Wahluke and Warden (going to 2B).

Al Camp is the sports editor for The Chronicle. Email him at


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment