State of emergency declared

— President Obama has declared a state of emergency in Okanogan County and other areas of the state.

The declaration means the federal government will make emergency aid available to supplement state, tribal and local response efforts in areas affected wildfires.

Obama has authorized FEMA to coordinate disaster relief efforts and provide assistance as allowed under Title V of the Stafford Act.

The effort is designed to save lives, protect property and public health and safety in Asotin, Chelan, Douglas, Ferry, Klickitat, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, Skamania, Spokane, Stevens and Yakima counties, and the Colville Confederated Tribes, Kalispel Tribe of Indians, Spokane Tribe of Indians and the Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation reservations.

Emergency protective measures, limited to direct federal assistance, will be provided at 75 percent federal funding. 


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment