Burn ban issued for region

OKANOGAN – The state Department of Ecology announced Tuesday morning that a stage one burn ban is in effect for Okanogan, Ferry, Douglas and surrounding counties beginning at 4 p.m. today.

Ecology is calling for the ban because of stagnant air conditions that are forecast in the region, putting the counties at risk for air pollutants to reach unhealthy levels.

Under a stage one burn ban, all outdoor burning is prohibited including residential, agricultural and forest burning. Use of uncertified wood stoves, fireplaces, inserts and other uncertified wood-burning devices is prohibited, unless they are the home’s only adequate source of heat.

Certified wood stoves, pellet stoves and other certified wood-burning devices are allowed.

Kittitas, Chelan, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Asotin and Walla Walla counties are also under the ban.

The ban is expected to continue through 10 a.m. Jan. 4, at which time the ban could be called off or extended.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment