Breaking News: Pateros changes water system

Burn ban extended for Okanogan, Douglas counties

Kittitas, Chelan, Klickitat counties also under ban

UNION GAP – Air quality conditions have not improved across much of central Washington, prompting the state Department of Ecology to extend and expand burn bans for five counties.

Stage 1 burn bans are being extended in Kittitas, Chelan, Douglas and Okanogan counties. In addition, a stage 1 burn ban begins at 4 p.m. today, Jan. 7, for Klickitat County.

Stagnant air persists because of light winds and strong temperature inversions, agency officials said.

The burn bans will continue at least through 10 a.m. Tuesday, Jan. 12. Bans could be called off or extended at that time.

Under a Stage 1 ban, all outdoor burning is prohibited, including residential, agricultural and forest burning. Use of uncertified wood stoves, fireplaces, inserts and other uncertified wood-burning devices is prohibited unless they are the home’s only adequate source of heat.

Certified wood stoves, pellet stoves and other certified wood-burning devices are allowed.

Ecology’s burn bans do not apply on tribal reservations, where the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has jurisdiction.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment