Stories for February 2018

Subscribe

Wednesday, February 28

         

Gas prices climb

Average retail gasoline prices across the state have risen 5 cents per gallon in the past week, averaging $2.95 per gallon on Sunday, Feb. 25, according to GasBuddy.

February 28, 2018 8:16 a.m. read more..
        

Tuesday, February 27

  

Albertsons-Rite Aid merger announced

BOISE, Idaho – Albertsons Companies and Rite Aid Corp. announced plans last week for a merger, but there’s no word yet on whether the Omak Rite Aid store will be part of the deal.

February 27, 2018 11:38 a.m. read more..
             

Monday, February 26

  

Auditions planned for Tonasket play

Auditions for “El Diario de Anna Francisco,” a Tonasket Community Theater production, will take place at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 6, at the Community Cultural Center, 411 S. Western Ave.

February 26, 2018 5:54 p.m. read more..


Draft homeless plan up for review Feb. 27

People can review the Housing Coalition for Okanogan County draft plan at 3 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 27, in the county commissioners’ office in the Grainger Administration Building, 123 N. Fifth Ave.

February 26, 2018 10:09 a.m. read more..

Sunday, February 25



Saturday, February 24



Friday, February 23

   

Thursday, February 22

 

Lawsuit filed against Tonasket School District

A former Tonasket High School basketball coach and his child have filed a lawsuit against the Tonasket School District, superintendent, athletic director, teacher and school board members for alleged discrimination, violation of the education amendments of 1972, and outrage.

February 22, 2018 2 p.m. read more..
       

Wednesday, February 21

          

Tuesday, February 20

       

State buys ranch for sharp-tail grouse habitat

The state Fish and Wildlife Commission has approved the final phase of a 20,000-acre land acquisition to conserve critical wildlife habitat and support public recreation in Douglas County seven miles downstream from Grand Coulee Dam.

February 20, 2018 11:21 a.m. read more..


Bill would compensate Spokane Tribe for dam impact

The U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs has passed legislation that would compensate the Spokane Tribe for the past and continued use of tribal lands by the federal government for power generation by Grand Coulee Dam.

February 20, 2018 11:19 a.m. read more..
    

Bill addresses 'lunch shaming' in schools

Legislators are considering a bill to ban school “lunch shaming” and ensure access to healthy meals for all students, but local school officials say they’re not aware of any area districts that allow such a practice.

February 20, 2018 11:12 a.m. read more..


Group wants to form 51st state

A 51st state, consisting of Washington counties east of the Cascade crest, would be a place free of property taxes, with fewer government regulations and an attitude favoring conservative, Christian values.

February 20, 2018 11:10 a.m. read more..
   

Winthrop ponders library expansion

The Winthrop Public Library, intended to be temporary, falls 6,000 square feet short of the American Library Association’s recommendation for its valley service area.

February 20, 2018 11:08 a.m. read more..


Forest crews find damaged roads

U.S. Forest Service crews have found road damage from forest recreationists driving on groomed snowmobile routes and around road barricades.

February 20, 2018 11:07 a.m. read more..
   

Monday, February 19

 

Sunday, February 18



Saturday, February 17



Friday, February 16

     

Thursday, February 15

         

Wednesday, February 14

            

Tuesday, February 13



Bill to relocate wolves passes state House

Under legislation passed today in the state House of Representatives, wolf relocation, a component of the state wolf conservation and management plan, may finally be used to bring relief to communities struggling with an abundance of wolves.

February 13, 2018 9:18 p.m. read more..
                

Monday, February 12

 

Omak woman's dog takes honors at Westminster show

NEW YORK CITY - GCH CH San Jo J’Adore “Dori,” a Shiba Inu co-owned by Cheryl Mamiya of Omak, has earned a best of breed award at the Westminster Kennel Club 142nd annual All-Breed Dog Show at Madison Square Garden.

February 12, 2018 4:32 p.m. read more..


Sunday, February 11

 

Saturday, February 10



Friday, February 9

   

Pateros claims league crown

The Pateros High School boys’ basketball team closed the regular season with a strong effort Tuesday, topping Moses Lake Christian Academy, 48-41, and securing the Central Washington 1B League championship.

February 9, 2018 3:51 p.m. read more..


YEARS AGO: 1943 - Party guests view ‘Bambi’

75 years ago: Margaret Linn marked her 8th birthday with a party at which the guests attended the movie, “Bambi.” Guests were Patsy Jo Smith, Janet Watson, Hone Lee, Elsie Emert and Kathryn Freibus.

February 9, 2018 3:35 p.m. read more..
     

Thursday, February 8

    

Wednesday, February 7

           

Bigfoot eludes state recognition yet again

The mythical Sasquatch, an integral piece of Pacific Northwest folklore, got another shot at recognition this year with a bill that would name the creature Washington’s official state cryptid.

February 7, 2018 2:10 p.m. read more..
                

Tuesday, February 6

      

Supaman dances into the Okanogan

For the first time, award-winning Native American dancer and hip-hop artist Supaman and worldchampion jingle dress dancer Acosia Red Elk will perform throughout the Okanogan this week.

February 6, 2018 10:19 a.m. read more..
   

Nashville Star qualifying events planned

The last qualifying opportunity for this year’s Washington State Nashville Country Star competition will be Sunday, Feb. 18, in the Okanogan High School cafetorium, 244 S. Fifth Ave.

February 6, 2018 9:41 a.m. read more..
     

Sunday, February 4

   

Saturday, February 3



Friday, February 2

 

Thursday, February 1