omak high school

OMAK - Omak and Highlands high schools have announced end-of-year academic awards and student recognition.

Students were recognized June 8 and June 6 during a school assembly.

Valedictorian - Alexander Johns.

Salutatorian - Allison Hale.

Ellis Integrity Award - Evangeline Lamb. The award goes to the individual who has consistently displayed personal integrity in all aspects of student and community life.

Vadman Citizenship Award - Allison Hale. The award goes to the individual who has consistently displayed positive citizenship in all aspects of student and community life.

Graduates, 3.5 and above grade point average - Beverlee Abrahamson, Bobbi Allen, Kennedi Bartell, Ashley Blakemore, Andrick Carroll-Sanchez, Lonnie Cawston Jr., Shannon Fahey, Sarah Fenison, Isaac Frear, Allison Hale, Alexander Johns, Kenneth Knapp, Evangeline Lamb, Riata Marchant, Jessica McClellan, Braeden O’Dell.

Graduates with Running Start associate college degrees - Tyler Crosby, Sarah Fenison, Tison Fletcher, Kesla Fry, Kenneth Knapp, Riata Marchant, Jessica McClellan, Abraham Medina Martinez, Angelina Newman, Rhumor Perry, Anthony Rankin-Smith, Emily Schneider, Kaitlyn Short.

Students of the year

Biology - Roselynn Olson.

Physics - Steven Zandell.

Chemistry - Sarah Walker.

Social Studies - Quin Both, Evangeline Lamb.

Mathematics, advanced placement calculus - Andrick Carroll-Sanchez, Nghi “Freya” Luong.

Pre-calculus, seniors - Lonnie Cawston, Bethany White.

Pre-calculus, others - Steven Zandell, Tyler Warden.

Algebra 1 - Monique Samuels, Austin Christie.

Algebra 2 - MacKenzie Cline, Quin Both.

Geometry - Paola Conesa Caquias, Corbin Hale.

Physical education - Israel Escamilla.

Spanish - Steven Zandell, Mackenzie Cline.

Salish - Bobbi Allen.

English, freshman - Iris Orr, Corbin Hale.

English, sophomore - Mackenzie Cline,

English, junior - Centaya Mendoza, Sidney Nichols.

English, senior - Allison Hale, Isaac Frear.

Music - Gabriel Conesa Caquias.

Advanced choir - Kennedi Bartell.

Concert choir - Aunika Young.

Jazz choir - Jayden-Jo Tonasket.

Concert band - Isaac Frear.

Jazz band - Braeden O’Dell.

Automotive - Nathan Nilles.

Business education - Alexander Eitemiller.

Ag science outstanding student of the year - Allison Hale.

Art - Nghi Luong.

FACSE - Hannah Schneider.

FCCLA - Isaiah Campbell.

Theater - Lauren Santistevan.

Wood shop/building trades - Simon McCune.

Welding - Nathan Nilles.

Welding most improved - Tison Miller

Pathfinder awards

Freshman - Jonathan Stenberg.

Sophomore - Chris Guitierrez.

Junior - Nonamie Diamond.

Senior - Navarro Nanpuya.

Other awards

Steve Zacherle activity award - Andrick Carroll-Sanchez.

ASB officers - Shannon Fahey, president; Giselle Arciniega, vice president; Abigail Leavanel, secretary; JoJo Ibarra, senior treasurer; Maribel Rivera, junior treasurer; Kanen Ables, senior board representative; Sydney Nichols, junior board representative; Zintia Lopez Zuira, activities council person; Antonio Rivera, senior class present; Aaron Black, junior class president; Mayra Silva, sophomore class president; Abigail Zepeda Navarro, freshman class president.

Class of the year - Seniors, class of 2019.

Life skills peer tutors appreciation certificates - Payton Abrahamson, Alexys Abramoski, Nicole Baker, Ashley Cline, Ryan Holt, Brady Tonasket, Tanner Hurt.

Project HOPE internship - Perla Meza, Beverlee “Joy” Abrahamson. Both will receive a paid internship at Mid-Valley Hospital through the Area Health Education Center at Eastern Washington University.

Perfect attendance - Alexander Johns, senior; Alfonso Lechuga, sophomore; Derek Anderson, freshman.

Excellent attendance - Jose Lechuga, Nathan Nilles, Evangeline Lamb, Isaac Frear, seniors; Giselle Arciniega, Reilly Davis, Tylor Worden, juniors; Silas Clark, Edith Diderichsen, Catherine MacDonald, Mayra Silva, Tylor Sam, sophomores; Trinity Fjellman, Rowan Haigh, Carlos Montoya, Savannah Price, Bellina Saario, freshmen.

Academic/athletic awards

U.S. Marine Corps distinguished athlete award - Lonnie Cawston, Rhumor Perry.

Ron Marchand award most inspirational male athlete - Antonio Rivera.

Most inspirational female athlete - Shannon Fahey.

Leo Johnson award for sportsmanship - Israel Escamilla.

Stephanie Garvais award - Evangeline Lamb.

Lloyd Caryl memorial - Navarro Nanpuya.

Outstanding female athlete - Evangeline Lamb.

Ron Baines memorial - Kanen Ables.

Tyler Aaron Thompson award - Allison Hale.

Tom Martin Swann memorial - Braeden O’Dell.

Caribou Trail League scholar-athlete awards - Beverlee Abrahamson, Andrick Carroll-Sanchez, Lonnie Cawston Jr., Shannon Fahey, Isaac Frear, Allison Hale, Alexander Johns, Evangeline Lamb, Jessica McClellan.

FCCLA awards - Kassidy Carlton, senior chef; Sabrina DeCruz, sous chef; Shelby Gragg, sous chef; Simon McCune, sous chef; Isaiah Campbell, sous chef; Camden Hopkin, sous chef; Nghi “Freya” Luong, American chef.

FBLA awards - Alfonso Lechuga, Miguelina Ramos, outstanding Web design; Angelice Behrens, computer applications; Allison Hale, accounting.

Band program - Christine Zandell, Ethan Howard, Haley Hessman, Sophie Fenison, outstanding beginning band musicians; Hadlee Brantner, Ariel Gomez, outstanding musicians percussion; Mary MacDonald, Coley Christoph, outstanding middle school musicians; Jackson Skowronski, most improved middle school musician; Isaac Frear, John Philip Sousa award; Sarah Walker, outstanding high school musician; Catie MacDonald, most improved high school musician; Stephanie Goble, Pioneer spirit award; Sarah Walker, semper fidelis (Marine Corps) award; Gabe Conesa Caquias, Israel Escamilla, Isaac Frear, Alex Johns, Bradon Maple, Braeden O’Dell, Bethany White, seniors; Louis Armstrong award, Braeden O’Dell; Israel Escamilla, outstanding jazz musician; Kyl Davis, most improved jazz musician; Gabe Conesa Caquias, overall music student of the year.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.