OMAK – Tonasket claimed the wrestling championship at the annual Pioneer Invitational Tournament on Saturday.

The Tigers finished with 237 points, easily besting second-place Warden at 172 and Cascade at 152.

“I’m very happy with how our wrestlers performed this weekend,” Tonasket coach Cole Denison said. “We’ll keep working hard to improve as the season progresses.”

The tournament allowed teams to collect points from one wrestler only at a weight, which made the deep Tonasket team’s finish all the more impressive.

“It was a great tournament for the beginning of the year,” Omak coach Dean Agee said. “It did move right along. We like to make sure that our tournaments run smoothly with as little interruption as possible.

“David Kirk did a good job running the brackets. I was happy with the wrestler turnout. It was our fullest brackets in a long time, the fullest (athletic director) Joe LaGrou could recall.”

Every bracket had at least four wrestlers, which led to younger wrestlers getting experience and older grapplers getting in a good workout.

The Pioneers’ Navarro Nanpuya at 170 pounds was voted by coaches to receive the wrestler of the tournament award.

Nanpuya got a first-period pin in the semifinals and a major decision (16-6) over Tonasket's Austin Wood in the final.

“Our team wrestled well,” Agee said. “We have a lot of work to do, as the team is young, and some are inexperienced (eight freshmen). Two of our freshmen made the finals - Kaden Cate (106) and Leighton Jensen (285). They both finished second.

“Rey Buenaventura made the consolation finals but lost the match to finish fourth. Rey’s younger brother, Raziel, and another freshman, Kato Wolverine, both gained wins over league opponents in the tournament,” Agee said.

Omak is at the Granger Ironman Tournament on Saturday.

Team scores: 1, Tonasket 237. 2, Warden 172.5. 3, Cascade 152. 4, Omak 78. 5, Okanogan 73. 6, Cashmere 69. 7, Liberty Bell 65. 8, Chelan 54.5. 9, Cle Elum 20.

106 - 1-2, Waylon Thomas, Ton., p. Kaden Cate, Omak, third. 3-4, Juan Martinez, Casc., p. Carson Cox, Ward., first.

113 - 1-2, Riley Vanatta, Ton., m.d. Cael Cox, Ward., 10-0. 3-4, Derrek Holister, Ton., p. Cody White, LB, third.

120 - 1-2, Waylon Wilson, Ton., p. Lane Bolich, Ton., third. 3-4, Roly Martinez, Ward., p. Tony Martinez, Ward., second.

126 - 1-2, Colin Silverthorn, Ton., p. Dahani Trupp, Ward., first. 3-4, Jed McMillan, LB, d. Rey Buenaventura, Omak, 15-8.

132 - 1-2, Daniel Sandoval, Casc., m.d. Brenton Cole, Ward., 13-3. 3-4, Angel DePaz, Ton., d. Anthony Salazar, Ton., 5-3.

138 - 1-2, Rielan Bretz, Ton., p. Adian Arceo, Casc., second. 3-4, Aaron Guerrerro, Cash., p. Jose Mercado, Chelan, third.

145 - 1-2, Rodrigo Ozuna, Ward., p. Austin Curry, Casc., first. 3-4, Kevin Sanabria, Ton., d. Whalen Gillikin, Cash., 10-6.

152 - 1-2, Holden Haworth, Ward., d. Austin Brock, Ton., 7-3. 3-4, Joey Moen, CE, p. Noah Holston, LB, third.

160 - 1-2, Bodie Paul, LB, d. Erik Alcala, Che., 4-3. 3-4, Efren Guerrero, Casc., d. Baz Loyd, Cash., 5-3.

170 - 1-2, Navarro Nanpuya, Omak, m.d. Austin Wood, Ton., 16-6. 3-4, Mikey Madrigales, Ward., p. Sterling Rich, Okan., second.

182 - 1-2, Carson Sasse, Ton., t.f. Eric Rosario, Casc., 16-1. 3-4, Elijah Gonsalez, Ward., p. Iziah Oropeza, Cash., first.

195 - 1-2, Isaac Gomez, Ton., d. Dalton Swayze, Okan., 5-1. 3-4, Angel Mendoza, Che., d. Tucker Weatherman, Cash., 7-6.

220 - 1-2, Matt Zesiger, Okan., p. Darius Moses-Howard, Okan., second. 3-4, Adrian Martinez, Che., p. Cameron Barnes, Casc., second.

285 - 1-2, Hunter Reinhart, Casc., p. Leighton Jensen, Omak, first. 3-4, James Smith, Okan., p. Bryce James, Casc., first.

Raiders win

DAVENPORT – Lake Roosevelt edged Medical Lake, 177-157, for the championship at the Davenport Invitational on Saturday.

Complete results were not available.

Oroville’s Colby Guzman took the 170-pound title with a 5-3 decision over Tait Lyle of Reardan.

Taking second for the Hornets were Cody Field at 126, who fell 7-4 in the finals to Sammy Manina of Northwest Christian and Seth Baugher at 152, who fell 6-4 to last year’s state champion, Tony Nichols of Lake Roosevelt.

Also wrestling for Oroville were Oscar Cervantes, taking fourth at 195; Sam Castrejon, getting two pins at 152; Darian Range, at 145 going 2-2; Hunter DeVon, at 160 with a win over teammate Jett McCoy, and Victor O’Campo, going 0-2 at 182.

On the girls’ side, Melinda Clark at 135 “improved her wrestling from last year but lost two, hard-fought bouts,” Oroville coach Chuck Ricevuto said.

“I honestly did not know how well we would fare as a team with so many kids out of the lineup. What we had wrestled pretty well. We simply need to get more kids healthy and eligible to creep closer to the top in future tournaments.”

The Hornets will host Brewster and Pateros at 6 p.m. Friday.

“Come out and support our Hornet wrestlers,” Ricevuto said.

Team scores: 1, Lake Roosevelt 177. 2, Medical Lake 157. 3, Reardan 132. 4, Liberty 102. 5, Oroville 76. 6, Mabton 65.6. 7, Brewster 58. 8, Kettle Falls 55. 9, Davenport 42. 10, Wilbur-Creston-Keller 34.5. 11, Northwest Christian 32. 12, Newport JV 30. 13, Pateros 21. 14, Medical Lake JV 20. 15, Kittitas 10.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.