TONASKET — The Tonasket High School wrestling team quenched its hunger after winning the Apple Pie Wrestling Tournament on Saturday.

The Tigers finished with 254 points, easily outdistancing second-place Warden at 175.

Royal was third at 155.5 and Reardan fourth at 128.

Tonasket winners included Riley Vanatta (106), Colin Silverthorn (113), Dawson Bretz (120), Chris Rivera (126), Garrett Wilson (145), Carsen Walton (152), Austin Wood (160) and Isaac Gomez (182).

Second place Tigers included Troy Wood (132) and Rycki Cruz (170).

Third went to Lazaro Soria (113) and Rielan Bretz (138).

Fourth went to Lane Bolich (106), Seth Baugher (145) and Brandon Barker (195).

“Others who competed for us were Derrek Hollister, Curtis Willson, Israel Gomez, Angel DePaz, Blaize Wallis, and Julio Alatorre,” Tonasket coach Cole Denison said. “Our girls were also able to get some exhibition matches. Good job to Mandi Wilson, Cora Diehl, Missy Martinez, Yami Nunez, Jaime Wilson, Kat Harrington, Madison Gariano and Olivia Sutton.

“I am very thankful to have such great support for our wrestling program,” Denison said. “There are a lot of moving parts in these tournaments and it takes a bunch of volunteers to make things run smooth like they did. A big thank you to all the table help, towel boys, runners, the hospitality room contributions, apple pie makers, tournament directors and everyone else who pitched in to help out.”

Dalton Swayze led Okanogan with a second-place finish at 195 pounds.

Julian Cates was third at 220.

“Our other wrestlers got more experience, but did not medal,” Okanogan coach Andy Knutson said. “Our girls did very well, winning 12 of their 13 match ups.”

The girls included Anna Weigel (3-0) at 120, Vanessa Cardenas (2-0) at 120, Trinity Wood (1-1) at 145, Allie Eastridge (3-0) at 170 and Crystal Harrison (3-0) at 190.

Nanpuya breaks arm

MARYSVILLE – The Omak High School wrestling team took a small contingent to the Marysville Premier Invitational on Saturday, returning with three placers.

Navarro Nanpuya was second at 170, Ben Hale third at 195 and Leonel Cruz fifth at 138.

Nanpuya, seeded No. 1 and ranked No. 1 in state 1A, opened with bye then picked up two pins to reach the finals.

“It was clear Navarro was there to win the tournament,” Omak coach Dean Agee said. “In the finals match, Navarro was defeated by injury default. Unfortunately, Navarro broke his arm in the first round of the match when his opponent attempted to throw him. It was Navarro’s first loss of the season.

“The team was devastated to see one of their leaders lying on the mat in that situation. Navarro is keeping his head up, but you can imagine the disappointment.”

Hale lost his first-round match to the No. 1 seed in overtime. He then won 10-2 and 10-3 to tie for third.

Cruz fell 5-2 to No. 1 seed Baily Alvis of Marysville-Pilchuck in the first round.

Alvis would finish second.

Cruz then picked up a pair of pins and a 5-4 decision before falling 10-4 to Jay Jay Cortez of Kentwood.

“This was Leonel’s first tourney back from his shoulder injury,” Agee said.

The Pioneers finished with 12th (45 points) out of 16 teams, all of which were from 4A or 3A schools except for 1A Omak.

Also competing for Omak were Josh Bertram (145), Deondre Ives (152) and Donavan Abrahamson (160).

“The boys have been working hard in the room,” Agee said. “The boys know that business must go on. We will continue to work hard on grades, character and wrestling.”

Oroville takes fifth

COLBERT – Oroville finished fifth and the combined Republic/Curlew team sixth at the Northwest Christian wrestling tournament Jan. 13.

Riverside took the team title with 151 points. Colfax/Garfield-Palouse was second at 141.

Oroville finished with 103 points.

Republic/Curlew had 77 points.

“Zane Scott (3-1) and Taralynn Fox (1-1) were the Hornet's only finalists who both settled for second-place silver medals,” Oroville coach Chuck Ricevuto said. “This is the largest and most diverse tournament we go to each season. The competition is tough and we get to see new faces. There were 22 teams and over 200 wrestlers competing.”

The Hornets stacked up 19 pins for 38 team-points right off.

Other Oroville wrestlers included Cody Field (2-1), Louie Vazquez (1-2), Mike Lewis (2-2), Darian Range (1-2), Brigido Ocampo (1-2), Steven Lopez (2-2), Sergio Ocampo (1-2), Yohanny Castillo (4-), Hunter DeVon (1-2), Colby Guzman (4-1) and Melinda Clark (0-2).

The Hornets host a mixer starting at 5 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 17, with Omak, Okanogan, Davenport, ACH, Liberty Bel, and Brewster.

Oroville goes to the Coyote Classic Invitational on Saturday at Kittitas High School.

Horn, Nichols win

RAINIER – Lake Roosevelt’s Kaleb Horn at 132 pounds and Tony Nichols at 152 pounds won titles at the Sgt. Justin Norton Memorial wrestling tournament Jan. 13.

Horn reached the finals with a pin and 5-1 decision. He then won 4-0 over Dallin Stafford of Klalhowya in the championship bout.

Nichols reached the finals with two pins before an 8-2 decision in the semifinals. He took the title with a 4-2 decision over Braxton Dowell of Adna.

The Raiders Robert Thomas was fifth at 106.

Lake Roosevelt finished 12th with 71 points out of 19 teams.

Forks easily took first with 204.5 points.

Chelan was third at 110 points.

Others competing for the Raiders included Everett Schmidt (113), Ryan Moon (145), Dylan Wiles (160), Moses Luveno (170), Brandon Long (195), Serwin Vargas (220), Conner Klineberg (220).

Those wrestling for Pateros included Ramiro Ambriz (106), Oscar Ambriz (106), Erik Espino (113), Seth Russell (132), Santana Ayala (152) and Enrique Castellanos (182).

Tonasket 51, Chelan 27

TONASKET – Tonasket parlayed eight pins into a 51-27 win over Chelan in a non-league wrestling match Jan. 10.

Those with pins were Dawson Bretz (126), Chris Rivera (132), Seth Baugher (145), Garrett Wilson (152), Carsen Walton (160), Rycki Cruz (170), Isaac Gomez (182 and Brandon Barker (195).

Colin Silverthorn (120) picked up a 4-0 decision.

Riley Vanatta (106) and Lane Bolich (113) received forfeits.

Chelan received forfeits at 220 and 285 to go with a 10-5 decision at 138.

Also Wednesday night, Mandi Wilson and Missy Martinez each collected pins early.

Blaize Wallis and Austin Brock fell in junior varsity matches.

After the varsity matches, Cora Diehl and Mandi Wilson each got a pin.

“Once again, a great crowd came to show their support, we sure appreciate this,” Tonasket coach Cole Denison said.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.