Edward Marchand on Jackpot

Edward Marchand on Jackpot leads riders down the hill during a runoff race in 2018 for the World-Famous Suicide Race.

Final field determined following qualifying

OMAK – This year’s final field for the 84th World-Famous Suicide Race will be determined this weekend.

The final qualification day and paying to be in the race runs 6-9 p.m. today, Saturday Aug. 3.

If more than 20 horses are paid to be in the race, there will be two runoff races at 3 p.m. and 5 p.m. Sunday.

If 20 or fewer horses pay to be in the race, those wanting to can compete in a jackpot race at 3 p.m. Sunday.

There will be a Calcutta for any of the races earlier in the day at the paddock area of East Side Park.

The field is limited by the Owners and Jockeys Association to 20 horses for races competed after each Omak Stampede rodeo, Aug. 8-11. The rodeo starts at 7 p.m. Thursday through Sunday and 1 p.m. Sunday.

After qualification July 28, there were 42 horses with 43 jockeys who had passed through at least the veterinary check , said Owners and Jockey Association President Pete Palmer.

There were 29 horses qualified for the horse race after completing a vet check plus swim and hill tests.

More horses could have qualified Friday and again today, Saturday.

But how many pay an entry fee determines how many horses truly want to race.

One big name horse needing to pass the hill test Friday or Saturday is Onyx, ridden by Oliver Pakootas and owned by Shawnnae and Oliver Pakootas. Onyx finished fourth in last year’s overall point standings.

In all, there were nine horses needing to qualify on a hill test and another three needing to pass both the hill and swim tests going into the weekend.

As a side note, there are two sets of horses with the same names – two named Chief and two others named Mufasa.

As of July 28, horses having qualified (horse, jockey, owner) are:

Augustus, Loren Marchand, Loren Marchand, Mike and Sheri Jones

Black Shay, Riley Prescott, David Palmer

Chief, Josiah Desautel, Tim Holt

Chief, Conner Picking, Louis Castro

Dale, Mike Harry, John Pakootas

Digger, Danny Trevino, Danny Trevino

Dillinger, Henry LaCourse, Kevin LaCourse

Dirty Dan, Andrew Whiteman, Casey Nissen

Dollar, Kaden Desautel, Blake Marchand

Duranimal, Chance Carson, Marchand Stables

Eagle Boy, Scott Abrahamson, Scott Abrahamson

Edgar, Gib Seymour/Blaine, Cole Seymour

Gimmesome, BeauDeen Adolph, George Marchand

Houdini, Jim Best, Jim Best/Ivory Ford

Ice, Alex McCraigie/Matt P, Blake Marchand

Jackpot, Edward Marchand, Bronson Peterson

Jake, Tom Best/Rocky Timentwa/Tyler Peasley, Tom Best

Julio, Gabriel Moses, Annette Moses

Lonesome, Tarren Meusy, George Marchand

Mufasa, Andrew Whiteman, Jonathan Abrahamson

Mufasa, Steven Ford, Zane Marchand

Omaha, Jason Meusy, Jimmy Marchand

Redline, Jasper Abrahamson, Jake Taylor

Redman, Abe Grunlose, Abe Grunlose

Schitzo Lenny, Francis Marchand, Lacy and PJ Pakootas

Spade, Tyler Peasley, Mia Pakootas

Spirit, Josh Harry, Milo Pakootas

Thunder, Montana Pakootas, Casey Nissen

Wind Walker, Audrey Seymour, Audrey Seymour

2018 final overall standings:

(place, horse, owner, jockey, points)

1, Eagle Boy, Scott Abrahamson, Scott Abrahamson, 12 points.

2-3 tie, Jackpot, Bronson Peterson, Edward Marchand, 10 points. Black Shay, Jonathan Abrahamson/Babe Palmer, Riley Prescott, 10 points.

4, Onyx, Shawnnae and Oliver Pakootas, Oliver Pakootas, 8 points.

5, Lonesome, George Marchand, Tarren Meusy, 7 points.

6-7 tie, Spirit, Milo Pakootas Sr., Alex McCraigie, 3 points. Augustus, Loren Marchand/Mike and Sheri Jones, Loren Marchand, 3 points.

8-9 tie, Chief, Louie Castro, Conner Picking, 2 points. Spirit, Milo Pakootas Sr., Alex McCraigie, 2 points.

10-12 tie, Julio, Ralph Moses, Gabe Moses, 1 point. Blur, Tyler Peasley and Tim Holt, Tyler Peasley, 1 point. Digger, Daniel Trevino, Daniel Trevino, 1 point.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.